JEWISH AUTHENTICITY AND IDENTITY

JAS OPEN STUDIOS ZOOM PROGRAMS CONTINUE!

SPECIAL TIME! Sunday, March 14, 2 PM New York, 1 PM Chicago, 11 AM PT, 9 PM Jerusalem.

What makes a work of art Jewish? What makes an artist Jewish? Jewish Art Salon invites you to a special edition of our Open Studios Program about Jewish Authenticity and Identity, a group exhibition on this theme, opening soon at Adas Israel Congregation in Washington, D.C.

Jewish Art Salon members Billha Zussman, Diana Kurz, Rachel Kanter, Hillel Smith and Heather Stoltz will talk about their work in the exhibit, as well as curator Ori Z. Soltes and exhibition director Robert Bettmann

Additional JAS artists in the exhibit are:  Heddy Abramowitz, Avrum Ashery, Rick Black, Cassandra Clark, Goldie Gross, Jonathan Hertzel, Julia Ilyutovich, Judith Joseph, Rachel Kanter, Karey Kessler, Stacy Leeman, Susie Lubell, Ruth Simon McRae, Yevgeniya Pavlova, Leah Raab, Susan Schrott, Joel Silverstein, Miriam Stern, Joyce Ellen Weinstein and Nona Zilberberg.

Jewish Authenticity and Identity curator Ori Z. Soltes is a professor of Jewish Civilization at Georgetown University. The former director and curator of the B’nai B’rith Klutznick National Jewish Museum. He is co-founder of the Holocaust Art Restitution Project and author of numerous books and articles including Tradition and Transformation: Three Millennia of Jewish Art & Architecture; Fixing the World: Jewish American Painters in the Twentieth Century; and The Ashen Rainbow: The Arts and the Holocaust. The exhibition is directed by Robert Bettmann, founder of the Jewish arts non-profit Day Eight.

The exhibition will be on display April 6 to May 14, 2021 at Adas Israel Congregation, 2850 Quebec St. NW Washington, DC., by appointment only, due to COVID safety measures.  Please visit https://www.adasisrael.org/ to arrange a visit.

The Jewish Art Salon Open Studios program is curated and hosted by Dorit Jordan Dotan and Judith Joseph.

In addition to the curators, this program is produced with the support of Jewish Art Salon’s Program Advisor Yona Verwer and team members Cheselyn Amato and Chana Wiesenthal-Elias.

Zoom info will be sent to our email list on the day of the event.

Register for the link here.

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: