VISUAL MUSIC: Calligraphy & Sacred Texts Among Jews and Christians

SPECIAL LIVE JAS PRESENTATION OF UPCOMING EXHIBITION AT THE HENRY LUCE III CENTER IN WASHINGTON, DC!

Sunday, December 12, 12 PM New York, 11 AM Chicago, 9 AM PT, 7 PM Jerusalem

Visual Music: Calligraphy & Sacred Texts Among Jews and Christians.

This program is produced with the support of Jewish Art Salon’s curator Dorit Jordan Dotan, Program Advisor Yona Verwer and further assistance by Cheselyn Amato and Chana Wiesenthal Elias.

Zoom info will be sent to our email list on the day of the event.

Please join Jewish Art Salon for this program, which will air live on Zoom, Sunday, December 12, 2021 at 12PM EST.

About the Curators:

Jonathan Homrighausen, a doctoral student in Hebrew Bible at Duke University, writes and researches at the intersection of Hebrew Bible, calligraphic art, and scribal craft. He is author of Illuminating Justice: The Ethical Imagination of The Saint John’s Bible (Liturgical Press, 2018), and a book tentatively titled Set Me as a Letterform: The Saint John’s Bible, the Song of Songs, and How to Look at Calligraphy (Liturgical Press, 2022), and numerous scholarly articles. He is currently teaching in Judaic Studies at the College of William & Mary, and preparing a dissertation on the ritual, metaphorical, and material significance of writing in the Book of Esther and its reception.

Wesley Faces August 2019

Dr. Aaron Rosen is Professor of Religion and Visual Culture and Director of the Henry Luce III Center for the Arts and Religion at Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington, D.C. and Visiting Professor at King’s College London, where he taught previously.  He began his career at Yale, Oxford, and Columbia, after receiving his PhD from Cambridge.  He has curated exhibitions around the world and written widely for scholarly and popular publications.  He is the author and editor of many books, including Art and Religion in the 21st Century and Journey through Art, translated into seven languages.

He is a member of the Advisory Board of the Jewish Art Salon.

CLICK HERE FOR LINK TO EXHIBITION WEBSITE.

Graphic by Judith Joseph.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: