HOLY SPARKS: CELEBRATING FIFTY YEARS OF WOMEN IN THE RABBINATE

Sunday, January 30, 12 PM ET, 11 AM CT, 9 AM PT, 7 PM Israel

Holy Sparks pairs artists with 24 woman rabbis to illuminate the creativity, commitment, and vision of women who were “firsts” in their time. Their challenges and contributions, struggles and successes, represent the achievements of all women rabbis since June 3, 1972, when Rabbi Sally Priesand was ordained by Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion as the first woman rabbi in America.

Dr. Bernard Heller Museum Director Jean Bloch Rosensaft will present and discuss the art, including Jewish Art Salon artists: Heddy Abramowitz, Ellen Alt, Siona Benjamin, Dorit Jordan Dotan, Tamar Hirschl, Judy Sirota Rosenthal, Joan Roth, Deborah Ugoretz, Yona Verwer and Ruth Weisberg.

This program is curated and hosted by Dorit Jordan Dotan and Judith Joseph. The JAS Open Studios Program Series is supported by Advisor Yona Verwer and team members Cheselyn Amato and Chana Wiesenthal Elias.

Zoom info will be sent to our email list on the day of the event.

Please join Jewish Art Salon for this program, which will air live on Zoom, Sunday, January 30, 2022 at 12PM EST. REGISTER FOR ZOOM LINK (Our newsletter)HERE

EXHIBITION WEBSITE

Graphic by Dorit Jordan Dotan. Art by Yona Verwer.

This program is made possible with generous support by CANVAS.

This exhibition was developed by The Braid with generous support from Lynne & Phil Himelstein, Ziering Family Foundation, Gladys and David Layne, and Ronda Spinak. Presented at the Dr. Bernard Heller Museum by the Irma L. and Abram S. Croll Center for Jewish Learning and Culture with the generous support of George, z”l, and Mildred Weissman.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: